©2019 by Suburban Wildlife. Proudly created with Wix.com

Search
  • Suburban Wildlife

Letterboxd Reviews

Letterboxd is a film review website and we've collected our favourite review of Suburban Wildlife so you can see what people like about the film! #AACTA members can watch Suburban Wildlife on the AACTA website and vote for it to be nominated for 2019 best indie film. https://www.aacta.org/aacta-awards/feature-films-in-competition/



Watched by Julian 08 Jun, 2019

Sydney Film Festival - #7

this was beautiful, appropriately messy and inspiring/jealousy inducing beyond words. major props to any film willing to dedicate a whole scene to the simple pleasure of enjoying a bubble 'o bill ❤️❤️❤️


★★★★ Watched by ben bauchet 09 Jun, 2019

saw this a while back but i forgot to log it

it’s such a delight seeing warm, funny, independent australian films. packed with incredible emerging talent. to put it simply, it’s deeply inspiring and exciting- it makes me feel like we’re on the precipice of an important moment in australian storytelling

★½ Watched by autopilot 08 Jun, 2019

As a straight guy I realise this film is not for me.



★★★★★ Watched by Alexei Toliopoulos 09 Aug, 2018 1

Beautiful and impressive debut.



★★★½ Watched by Felix Hubble 20 Sep, 2018

Really cool, totally independent film from some Sydney squad (this is so "growing up in major city NSW"-core). Blown away by what they've accomplished with ~$4000, outside of the reach of our national funding bodies - not perfect but looks beautiful, hits some key notes with ease, script/dialogue is tight, flows well and extremely exceeded my expectations, managing to plant itself firmly in the upper bracket of everything I've seen this year.

Interested to see where this goes, fingers crossed it nabs the attention that it deserves.



Watched by Josh 25 Feb, 2019

Captures the feeling of a specific time and place that resonated with me deeply. Lots of movies manage the "I need to get out of this place" trope to varying degrees of success - almost none manage to pull off the inverse "Why do you want to leave me and this place?" as well as Suburban Wildlife does.



★★★★★ Watched by Sam Silcock 08 Jun, 2019

This movie speaks to me. I think it spoke to everyone that I watched it with in different individual ways to each person. I wanted to know everything about the lives of each individual character but the intricate perfect mix of the 4, and the unspoken nuances of their relationship, was perfect. The theme of being in love with your straight friend spoke to me particularly but so did so many of the other storylines. Also, there’s a scene early on in the movie of Alice and that guy lying in bed which is one of the most beautiful of any movie I’ve seen. Also each of these characters were so well acted that I wanted to be friends with them all so much, particularly Nina I thought was truly a magnificent performance... Thanks so much for making this movie - it’s inspiring and makes me want to enjoy my life in Sydney suburbs whilst I have it.



★★★½ Watched by Elías Miranda 08 Jun, 2019

Incredible actors and characters, super good directing, and an AMAZING cinematography, felt in love with this aspect of the film. Love also the ambiguity and sensorial storytelling.


Read More:

https://letterboxd.com/film/suburban-wildlife/reviews/by/added/



15 views